Deposit Insurance

Banks covered by Deposit Insurance Scheme

(I) All commercial banks including the branches of foreign banks functioning in India, Local Area Banks and Regional Rural Banks.

(II) Co-operative Banks - All eligible co-operative banks as defined in Section 2(gg) of the DICGC Act are covered by the Deposit Insurance Scheme. All State, Central and Primary co-operative banks functioning in the States/Union Territories which have amended their Co-operative Societies Act as required under the DICGC Act, 1961, empowering RBI to order the Registrar of Co-operative Societies of the respective States/Union Territories to wind up a co-operative bank or to supersede its committee of management and requiring the Registrar not to take any action for winding up, amalgamation or reconstruction of a co-operative bank without prior sanction in writing from the RBI, are treated as eligible banks. At present all Co-operative banks are covered by the Scheme. The Union Territories of Lakshadweep and Dadra and Nagar Haveli do not have Co-operative Banks.

Registration of new banks as insured banksz

Under Section 11 of the DICGC Act, 1961, all new commercial banks are required to be registered as soon as may be after they are granted licence by the Reserve Bank of India under Section 22 of the Banking Regulation Act, 1949.

Following the enactment of the Regional Rural Banks Act, 1976 all Regional Rural Banks are required to be registered within 30 days from the date of their establishment in terms of Section 11A of the DICGC Act, 1961.

Co-operative Banks - A new co-operative bank is required to be registered as soon as may be after it is granted a licence by the RBI.

A primary co-operative credit society becoming a primary co-operative bank is to be registered within 3 months from the date of its application for licence.

A co-operative bank which has come into existence after the commencement of the Deposit Insurance Corporation (Amendment) Act, 1968, as a result of the division of any other co-operative society carrying on business as a co-operative bank, or the amalgamation of two or more co-operative societies carrying on banking business at the commencement of the Banking Laws (Application to Co-operative Societies) Act, 1965 or at any time thereafter is to be registered within three months of its making an application for licence.

However, a co-operative bank will not be registered, if it has been informed by the RBI in writing that a licence cannot be granted to it.

In terms of Section 14 of the DICGC Act, after the Corporation registers a bank as an insured bank, it is required to send, within 30 days of the bank's registration, an intimation in writing to the bank that it has been registered as an insured bank.

The letter of intimation, apart from the advice of registration and registration number, gives the details about the requirements to be observed by the bank, the rate of premium payable to the Corporation, the manner in which the premium is to be paid by the bank and the returns to be furnished to the Corporation etc. The insured bank has to submit its first return and remit the amount of premium within one month from the receipt of the letter, which is dispatched by Registered post or the date of commencement of business whichever is later. A copy of this letter is endorsed to the Reserve Bank of India and also National Bank For Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD) in the case of Regional Rural Banks/State co-operative banks and District Central co-operative banks.

Insurance coverage

IInitially, under the provisions of Section 16(1) of the DICGC Act, the insurance cover was limited to http://www.dicgc.org.in/English/images/rs_title.png1,500/- only per depositor(s) for deposits held by him (them) in the "same right and in the same capacity" in all the branches of the bank taken together. However, the Act also empowers the Corporation to raise this limit with the prior approval of the Central Government. Accordingly, the insurance limit was enhanced from time to time as follows:

>>    5,000/- with effect from 1st January 1968
>>  10,000/- with effect from 1st April 1970
>>  20,000/- with effect from 1st January 1976
>>  30,000/- with effect from 1st July 1980
>>  1,00,000/- with effect from 1st May 1993 onwards.

Types of Deposits Covered

DICGC insures all bank deposits, such as saving, fixed, current, recurring, etc. except the following types of deposits.

(i) Deposits of foreign Governments;
(ii) Deposits of Central/State Governments;
(iii) Inter-bank deposits;
(iv) Deposits of the State Land Development Banks with the State co-operative banks;
(v) Any amount due on account of and deposit received outside India;
(vi) Any amount which has been specifically exempted by the corporation with the previous approval of the RBI.